Share Share on Facebook Tweet Send on Viber

Looking to make 2018 your year filled of memorable travels? Pack your bags, have your itinerary ready and take advantage of airline seat sales because you could well make that dream overseas travel happen.

Philippine passport holders can now visit 63 countries and territories without the need to secure a visa. This puts the country at rank 72 out of 199 passports, according to Henley and Partners’ latest Visa Restrictions Index for 2018 – a small but still relevant improvement from last year’s 75th rank.

Globally, Germany is at the top of the list as its passport holders have access to 177 countries without visa. The European country has topped the list for 5 consecutive years. Singapore follows closely, leading the Southeast Asian region with allowed entry to 176 countries. Other ASEAN members such as Malaysia and Brunei Darussalam can also visit 166 and 153 countries respectively visa-free.

Thinking of picking an out of the country destination without the cost and hassle of visa-processing? Here is a list of visa-free countries you can consider for your next vacation(*visa on arrival; **electronic travel authority upon arrival):


  1. Brunei
  2. Cambodia
  3. Hong Kong
  4. Indonesia
  5. Kyrgyzstan*
  6. Laos
  7. Macao
  8. Malaysia
  9. Maldives*
  10. Mongolia
  11. Myanmar
  12. Nepal*
  13. Singapore
  14. Sri Lanka**
  15. Thailand
  16. Timor-Leste*
  17. Vietnam


  1. Cape Verde*
  2. Comores Island*
  3. Cote d’Ivoir
  4. Djibouti*
  5. Gambia
  6. Guinea-Bissau*
  7. Kenya*
  8. Madagascar*
  9. Malawi*
  10. Mauritania*
  11. Mauritius*
  12. Morocco
  13. Mozambique*
  14. Rwanda
  15. Seychelles*
  16. Somalia*
  17. St Helena*
  18. Tanzania*
  19. Togo*
  20. Uganda*


  1. Cook Islands*
  2. Fiji
  3. Marshall Islands*
  4. Micronesia
  5. Niue
  6. Palau Islands*
  7. Papua New Guinea*
  8. Samoa*
  9. Tuvalu*
  10. Vanuatu


  1. Dominica
  2. Haiti
  3. St. Lucia*
  4. St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  5. Trinidad and Tobago*

South America

  1. Bolivia
  2. Brazil
  3. Colombia
  4. Costa Rica
  5. Ecuador
  6. Nicaragua*
  7. Peru
  8. Suriname

Middle East

  1. Armenia*
  2. Iran*
  3. Israel

The country’s close neighbor in the north, Taiwan, is only on a visa-free trial period of nine months from November 1, 2017 until July 31, 2018.

If you don’t see your dream destination in the list, fret not. Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque said in a press briefing “that our people at the Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) will continue to work toward securing visa-free access of Filipinos to more countries.” We’re hoping to see some European countries (like *ehem* Italy) added to this list.

Photos from Manila Bulletin


Share Share on Facebook Tweet Send on Viber