After releasing Snapchat-ish filters, Instagram rolled out a new update that alerts users when you screenshot their stories. Uh-oh.
On Thursday, February 8, Twitter netizens were shookt and posted screenshots of their Instagram accounts with the warning: “Next time you take a screenshot or screen recording, the person who posted the story will be able to see.”
PSA: Instagram now informs the user if you screenshot or screen record their Stories. 🕵🏼♀️ pic.twitter.com/RW05w73zXZ
— Lara Tan (@laratyan) February 8, 2018
Good bye freedom to screenshot IG stories. 💔 Thank you, Instagram for the warning. pic.twitter.com/y0pEaVR0Jq
— mulan (@__cajb) February 8, 2018
So @instagram now notifies you when someone takes a screenshot of your stories. LURK HAHAHAHA.
— Bea Fabregas (@beafabregas) February 8, 2018
Freaking instagram stories and their screenshot notifications pic.twitter.com/mHU2ToQDKm
— Margi Cruz (@margicruz) February 8, 2018
With this new feature, when someone screenshots or screen records your Instagram story, you will see a new icon next to the username that will indicate that he/she has taken a screenshot and/or he has recorded the phone screen. But don’t worry, Instagram will notify you for the first time you take a screenshot and the first screenshot notification won’t be sent.
In the past few months, the Facebook owned app has added new filters and features for stories. Four new fonts namely Neon, Typewriter, Strong, and Modern were added to the classic text.
They also quietly introduced a new feature called ‘Last Active’ that shows friends the last time you logged on to the app.
What can you say about this screenshots alerts for Instagram stories? Yay or nay?