Share Share on Facebook Tweet Send on Viber

Ash Wednesday or the first day of Lent, marks the beginning of the 40-day period of self-restraint and abstinence for Catholics. The Wednesday in turn is marked with us marked with ash crosses on our foreheads.

BTW, the ashes care culled from burnt as palaspas from Palm Sunday the year before. Priests and ministers then trace the cross on our foreheads, to remind us of the 40 days of fasting, repentance, and reflection.

It’s weird and strange and a little heavy metal, (teehee, peace Father!) While it definitely made us self-conscious, through the years, we’ve learned to deal with it by well, concocting nicknames for the types of ashes we end up carrying.

Check out below, and tell us what you got today!

1. The Type A 

This is the perfect cross that everyone would want to have, which is also what people first in line usually get.

2. The Last-in-Line

A faded ash that the last in line would usually get.

3. The Give na Give si Father

If the priest has the force within his hands.

4. The Pa-Hulas Na

The type of ash you would usually get when the line is long and the minister is already tired.

5. The one stroke

What you’ll get when Father has already gotten his ash-tracing rhythm down pat, and is already on the zone. Or when, he’s in a rush.

6. The half-a-cross

Oops, almost there. Cross na sana. 🙁

Illustrations by: Madel Crudo


Share Share on Facebook Tweet Send on Viber